Child molestation- second degree - Washington Sexual Assault Laws
In Washington, the criminal charge of Child molestation- second degree is classified as a Statutory Class B felony.
Child molestation- second degree Crime & Punishment in Washington :
The Washington code § 9A.44.086 defines one degrees of the crime child molestation- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Child molestation- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B felony
|Applies when sexual contact occurs between a victim at least 12 but under 14, and an offender at least three years older than victim.||Maximum of 10 years in prison, and/or a fine of $20,000|
Washington law allows child molestation- second degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Washington Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Child molestation- second degree is a charge that is unique to Washington. Crimes that would be prosecuted as child molestation- second degree in Washington will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.