Child molestation- third degree - Washington Sexual Assault Laws
In Washington, the criminal charge of Child molestation- third degree is classified as a Statutory Class C felony.
Child molestation- third degree Crime & Punishment in Washington :
The Washington code § 9A.44.089 defines one degrees of the crime child molestation- third degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Child molestation- third degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
|Applies when sexual contact occurs between a victim at least 14 but under 16, and an offender at least four years older than victim.||Maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a fine of $10,000|
Washington law allows child molestation- third degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Washington Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Child molestation- third degree is a charge that is unique to Washington. Crimes that would be prosecuted as child molestation- third degree in Washington will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.