Rape of a child- first degree - Washington Sexual Assault Laws
In Washington, the criminal charge of Rape of a child- first degree is classified as a Statutory Class A felony.
Rape of a child- first degree Crime & Punishment in Washington :
The Washington code § 9A.44.073 defines one degrees of the crime rape of a child- first degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape of a child- first degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
|Applies when sexual intercourse occurs between a victim under 12, and an offender at least 2 years older than victim||Maximum of life in prison, and/or a fine of $50,000|
Washington law allows rape of a child- first degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Washington Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape of a child- first degree is a charge that is unique to Washington. Crimes that would be prosecuted as rape of a child- first degree in Washington will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.