Rape of a child- third degree - Washington Sexual Assault Laws
In Washington, the criminal charge of Rape of a child- third degree is classified as a Statutory Class C felony.
Rape of a child- third degree Crime & Punishment in Washington :
The Washington code § 9A.44.079 defines one degrees of the crime rape of a child- third degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape of a child- third degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
|Applies when sexual intercourse occurs between a victim at least 14 but under 16, and an offender is at least 4 years older than victim.||Maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a fine of $10,000|
Washington law allows rape of a child- third degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Washington Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape of a child- third degree is a charge that is unique to Washington. Crimes that would be prosecuted as rape of a child- third degree in Washington will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.