Sexual assault of a child- second degree - Wisconsin Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual assault of a child- second degree Crime & Punishment in Wisconsin :
The Wisconsin code § 948.02(2) defines two degrees of the crime sexual assault of a child- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual assault of a child- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
|If victim is under 16.||Maximum of 40 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $100,000|
Class F felony
|When a person responsible for the welfare of a child under 16 knows that another person intends to have, is having, or has had sexual intercourse or sexual contact with the child, and fails to take action that would prevent the intercourse or contact from taking place or being repeated.||Maximum of 18.5 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $25,000|
Wisconsin law allows sexual assault of a child- second degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Wisconsin Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual assault of a child- second degree is a charge that is unique to Wisconsin. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual assault of a child- second degree in Wisconsin will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.