Rape- second degree - Alabama Sexual Assault Laws
In Alabama, the criminal charge of Rape- second degree is classified as a Statutory Class B felony.
Rape- second degree Crime & Punishment in Alabama :
The Alabama code § 13A-6-62 defines one degrees of the crime rape- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B felony
|Can be statutory if someone age 16 or older engaging in sexual intercourse with someone between age 12 and 16.||No less than two years and no more than 20 years.|
Alabama law allows rape- second degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Alabama Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape- second degree defined in other states :
Rape- second degree is a charge in a total of nine other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Delaware||Class B felony||10 years minimum sentence|
|Kentucky||Class C felony||5-10 years in prison|
|Maryland||Felony||20 years maximum sentence|
|New York||Class D felony||A maximum of 7 years in jail|
|North Carolina||Class C felony||44 to 182 months|
|Oklahoma||Felony||Imprisonment for a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 15 years.|
|Oregon||Class B felony||Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine|
|South Dakota||Class 1 felony||A maximum of 50 years in prison and a maximum of $50,000 in fines|
|Washington||Class A felony||Maximum of life in prison, and/or a fine of $50,000|