Sexual exploitation of a minor - Arizona Sexual Assault Laws
In Arizona, the criminal charge of Sexual exploitation of a minor is classified as a Statutory Class 2 felony.
Sexual exploitation of a minor Crime & Punishment in Arizona :
The Arizona code § 13-3553 defines one degrees of the crime sexual exploitation of a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual exploitation of a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 2 felony
|(1) If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; (2) if the offender is at least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for release until serving 35 years; (3) if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years|
Arizona law allows sexual exploitation of a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Arizona Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual exploitation of a minor defined in other states :
Sexual exploitation of a minor is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Iowa||Class C felony||Up to 10 years in prison|
|South Dakota||Class 5 felony; Class 6 felony||A maximum of 5 years in prison and a maximum of $10,000 in fines; A maximum of 2 years in prison and a maximum of $4,000 in fines|
|Vermont||Felony||Maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|