Sexual exploitation of a minor - South Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual exploitation of a minor Crime & Punishment in South Dakota :
The South Dakota code § 22-22-24.3 defines two degrees of the crime sexual exploitation of a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual exploitation of a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 5 felony
|If convicted of a second or subsequent violation within 15 years of the prior conviction.||A maximum of 5 years in prison and a maximum of $10,000 in fines|
Class 6 felony
|A maximum of 2 years in prison and a maximum of $4,000 in fines|
South Dakota law allows sexual exploitation of a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the South Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual exploitation of a minor defined in other states :
Sexual exploitation of a minor is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Arizona||Class 2 felony||(1) If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; (2) if the offender is at least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for release until serving 35 years; (3) if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years|
|Iowa||Class C felony||Up to 10 years in prison|
|Vermont||Felony||Maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|