Sexual assault- second degree - Arkansas Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual assault- second degree Crime & Punishment in Arkansas :
The Arkansas code § 5-14-125 defines two degrees of the crime sexual assault- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual assault- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B felony
||5-20 years; up to $15,000 fine|
Class D felony
|If offender is a minor and victim is less than 14 and not offender’s spouse.||Maximum of 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.|
Arkansas law allows sexual assault- second degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Arkansas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual assault- second degree defined in other states :
Sexual assault- second degree is a charge in a total of eight other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Alaska||Class B felony; Unclassified felony||Not more than 10 years; presumptive term of 4 years for the 2nd felony and 6 years for the 3rd; Not more then 30 years|
|Connecticut||Class B felony; Class C felony||1 to 20 years in prison, up to a $15,000 fine; 1 to 10 years in prison, maximum fine of $10,000|
|Hawaii||Class B felony||Up to 10 years in jail|
|Nebraska||Second degree and Class III felony; Third degree and Class I misdemeanor||Between 20 and 1 years of imprisonment, or twenty-five thousand dollars fine, or both; 1 to 20 years; $25,000 fine|
|West Virginia||Felony||10-25 years in in a state correctional facility, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Wisconsin||Class C felony||Maximum of 40 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $100,000|
|Wyoming||Felony||2-20 years in prison|