Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child - California Sexual Assault Laws
In California, the criminal charge of Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child is classified as a Statutory Felony.
Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child Crime & Punishment in California :
The California code § 269 defines one degrees of the crime aggravated sexual assault of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
|15 years to life|
California law allows aggravated sexual assault of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the California Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child defined in other states :
Aggravated Sexual Assault of a child is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Vermont||Felony||25 years-life, and/or a maximum fine of $50,000|