Aggravated sexual assault of a child - Vermont Sexual Assault Laws
In Vermont, the criminal charge of Aggravated sexual assault of a child is classified as a Statutory Felony.
Aggravated sexual assault of a child Crime & Punishment in Vermont :
The Vermont code § 3253a defines one degrees of the crime aggravated sexual assault of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated sexual assault of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
|Actor is at least 18 and victim is under the age of 16.||25 years-life, and/or a maximum fine of $50,000|
Vermont law allows aggravated sexual assault of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Vermont Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated sexual assault of a child defined in other states :
Aggravated sexual assault of a child is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|California||Felony||15 years to life|