Statutory Rape - Georgia Sexual Assault Laws
Statutory Rape Crime & Punishment in Georgia :
The Georgia code § 16-6-3 defines two degrees of the crime statutory rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Statutory Rape - Charge Description||Punishment|
|If victim under age of 16 not a spouse of the offender and victim is 14-15, and offender is no more than three years older than victim||Jail time not to exceed 12 months and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00|
Georgia law allows statutory rape to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Georgia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Statutory Rape defined in other states :
Statutory Rape is a charge in a total of two other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Mississippi||5-30 years based on age of defendant|
|Tennessee||Class E felony||Maximum of 6 years in prison and a maximum fine $3,000|