Statutory Rape - Mississippi Sexual Assault Laws
In Mississippi, the criminal charge of Statutory Rape is classified as a Statutory unspecified crime.
Statutory Rape Crime & Punishment in Mississippi :
The Mississippi code § 97-3-65 defines one degrees of the crime statutory rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Statutory Rape - Charge Description||Punishment|
|5-30 years based on age of defendant|
Mississippi law allows statutory rape to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Mississippi Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Statutory Rape defined in other states :
Statutory Rape is a charge in a total of two other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Georgia||Felony; Misdemeanor||10-20 years in prison.; 1-20 years in prison ; Jail time not to exceed 12 months and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00|
|Tennessee||Class E felony||Maximum of 6 years in prison and a maximum fine $3,000|