Sodomy - Minnesota Sexual Assault Laws
In Minnesota, the criminal charge of Sodomy is classified as a unspecified crime.
Sodomy Crime & Punishment in Minnesota :
The Minnesota code § 609.293 defines one degrees of the crime sodomy, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sodomy - Charge Description||Punishment|
||Punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both.|
Sodomy defined in other states :
Sodomy is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|California||Felony||3, 6, or 8 years if committed by force|
|Utah||Class B misdemeanor||A maximum of 6 months in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,000|