Rape- first degree - North Carolina Sexual Assault Laws
In North Carolina, the criminal charge of Rape- first degree is classified as a Statutory Class B1 felony.
Rape- first degree Crime & Punishment in North Carolina :
The North Carolina code § 14-27.2 defines one degrees of the crime rape- first degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape- first degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B1 felony
||Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years (defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction )|
North Carolina law allows rape- first degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the North Carolina Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape- first degree defined in other states :
Rape- first degree is a charge in a total of nine other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Alabama||Class A felony||No less than 10 years and no more than life or 99 years|
|Delaware||Class A felony||15 years to life in prison|
|Kentucky||Class A felony; Class B felony||20-50 years in prison; 10-20 years in prison|
|Maryland||Felony||Sentence not to exceed life without parole; Sentence not to exceed life|
|New York||Class B felony||5-25 years in jail|
|Oklahoma||Felony||Punishable by death or imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a minimum of 5 years.|
|Oregon||Class A felony||Up to 20 years; $300,000 fine|
|South Dakota||Class C felony||Life imprisonment and up to $50,000 in fines|
|Washington||Class A felony||Maximum of life in prison, and/or a fine of $50,000|