Sexual abuse of children - Pennsylvania Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual abuse of children Crime & Punishment in Pennsylvania :
The Pennsylvania code § 6312 defines two degrees of the crime sexual abuse of children, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse of children - Charge Description||Punishment|
Felony of the second degree
||A maximum of 10 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines|
Felony of the third degree
|For first offense under other subsections of this section.||A maximum of 7 years in prison and up to $15,000 in fines|
Pennsylvania law allows sexual abuse of children to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Pennsylvania Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse of children defined in other states :
Sexual abuse of children is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Montana||(a) Punishable by imprisonment for a term of 100 years, a fine not to exceed $50,000, and shall be ordered to complete the educational, cognitive and behavioral phases of a sexual offender treatment program; and (b) if offender is released after the mandatory minimum period of imprisonment, offender is subject to supervision by the department of corrections for the remainder of the offender’s life and shall participate in continuous, satellite-based monitoring; Life imprisonment or by imprisonment for a term of not less than four years or more than 100 years and a fine not to exceed $10,000; Life imprisonment, or imprisonment for a term not to exceed 100 years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000|