Rape- fourth degree - South Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
In South Dakota, the criminal charge of Rape- fourth degree is classified as a Statutory Class 3 felony.
Rape- fourth degree Crime & Punishment in South Dakota :
The South Dakota code § 22-22-1 defines one degrees of the crime rape- fourth degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape- fourth degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 3 felony
|If sexual penetration occurs and victim is at least 13 but under 16, and offender is at least three years older than victim.||A maximum of 15 years in prison and a maximum of $30,000 in fines|
South Dakota law allows rape- fourth degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the South Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape- fourth degree defined in other states :
Rape- fourth degree is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Delaware||Class C felony||Up to 10 years|