Custodial sexual misconduct - Utah Sexual Assault Laws
Custodial sexual misconduct Crime & Punishment in Utah :
The Utah code § 76-5-412 defines two degrees of the crime custodial sexual misconduct, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Custodial sexual misconduct - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
||If offender, who is a correctional or law enforcement officer, causes any sexual touching between offender and victim, who is a prisoner or under any correctional supervision.||A maximum of 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,500|
Third degree felony
|If offender, who is a correctional or law enforcement officer, causes any sexual touching between offender and victim, who is a prisoner or under any correctional supervision and if victim is under 18.||A maximum of 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000|
Utah law allows custodial sexual misconduct to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Utah Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Custodial sexual misconduct defined in other states :
Custodial sexual misconduct is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Illinois||Class 3 felony||2-5 years in prison|