Sexual abuse- second degree - Alabama Sexual Assault Laws
In Alabama, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse- second degree is classified as a Statutory Class C felony.
Sexual abuse- second degree Crime & Punishment in Alabama :
The Alabama code § 13A-6-67 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
|If offender commits a subsequent sexual offense within one year||No less than one year and one day and no more than 10 years.|
Alabama law allows sexual abuse- second degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Alabama Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse- second degree defined in other states :
Sexual abuse- second degree is a charge in a total of six other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|District of Columbia||Felony||Up to 20 years in prison; fine of up to $200,000|
|Iowa||Class B felony||Up to 25 years in prison|
|Kentucky||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 12 months in prison and/or fine up to $500|
|New York||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail|
|Oregon||Class C felony||Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine|
|West Virginia||Misdemeanor||A maximum imprisonment of 1 year in in a state correctional facility, and/or a maximum fine of $500|