Sexual abuse- second degree - West Virginia Sexual Assault Laws
In West Virginia, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse- second degree is classified as a Misdemeanor.
Sexual abuse- second degree Crime & Punishment in West Virginia :
The West Virginia code §61-8B-8 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse- second degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse- second degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
||A person is guilty of sexual abuse in the second degree when such person subjects another person to sexual contact who is mentally defective or mentally incapacitated.||A maximum imprisonment of 1 year in in a state correctional facility, and/or a maximum fine of $500|
Sexual abuse- second degree defined in other states :
Sexual abuse- second degree is a charge in a total of six other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Alabama||Class C felony||No less than one year and one day and no more than 10 years.|
|District of Columbia||Felony||Up to 20 years in prison; fine of up to $200,000|
|Iowa||Class B felony||Up to 25 years in prison|
|Kentucky||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 12 months in prison and/or fine up to $500|
|New York||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail|
|Oregon||Class C felony||Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine|