Sexual assault- fourth degree - Arkansas Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual assault- fourth degree Crime & Punishment in Arkansas :
The Arkansas code § 5-14-127 defines two degrees of the crime sexual assault- fourth degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual assault- fourth degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
|If offender engages in sexual contact with victim under 16 and not offender’s spouse||Not more than 1 year; up to $1,000 fine|
Class D felony
||Maximum of 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.|
Arkansas law allows sexual assault- fourth degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Arkansas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual assault- fourth degree defined in other states :
Sexual assault- fourth degree is a charge in a total of four other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Alaska||Class A misdemeanor||Not more than 1 year|
|Connecticut||Class A misdemeanor ; Class D felony||Up to 1 year in prison, maximum fine of $2,000; 1 to 5 years in prison, a maximum fine of $5,000|
|Hawaii||Misdemeanor||Up to 1 year in jail|
|Wisconsin||Class A misdemeanor||Maximum of 2 years, 9 months in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|