Sexual exploitation of a child - Colorado Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual exploitation of a child Crime & Punishment in Colorado :
The Colorado code § 18-6-403 defines three degrees of the crime sexual exploitation of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual exploitation of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 3 felony
|2-24 years in prison and/or a $3000-$750,000 fine.|
Class 4 felony
|If it involves a second or subsequent offense or possession is of video, video tape, or motion picture or more than 20 different items of sexually exploitative material||1-12 years in prison and/or a $2000-$500,000 fine.|
Class 6 felony
|If it involves possession of sexually exploitative material||1 year to 18 months in prison and/or a $1000-$100.000 fine.|
Colorado law allows sexual exploitation of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Colorado Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual exploitation of a child defined in other states :
Sexual exploitation of a child is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Idaho||Felony||10-30 years in prison, and/or $10,000-$50,000|
|Illinois||Class 4 felony; Class A misdemeanor||1-3 years in prison; Less than one year|
|Wisconsin||Class C felony; Class F felony||Maximum of 40 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $100,000; Maximum of 18.5 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $25,000|