Sexual abuse- third degree - New York Sexual Assault Laws
In New York, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse- third degree is classified as a Class B felony.
Sexual abuse- third degree Crime & Punishment in New York :
The New York code § 130.55 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse- third degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse- third degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B felony
||A person commits sexual abuse in the third degree when the offender subjects another person to sexual contact without consent||5-25 years in jail|
Sexual abuse- third degree defined in other states :
Sexual abuse- third degree is a charge in a total of five other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|District of Columbia||Felony||Up to 10 years in prison; fine of up to $100,000|
|Iowa||Class C felony||Up to 10 years in prison|
|Kentucky||Class B misdemeanor||Up to 90 days in prison|
|Oregon||Class A misdemeanor||A maximum prison sentence of 1 year and/or a maximum fine of 6250|
|West Virginia||Misdemeanor||Maximum of 90 days in a country jail, and/or a maximum fine of $500|