Sexual assault- third degree - Rhode Island Sexual Assault Laws

In Rhode Island, the criminal charge of Sexual assault- third degree is classified as a Statutory Felony.

Sexual assault- third degree Crime & Punishment in Rhode Island :

The Rhode Island code § 11-37-6 defines one degrees of the crime sexual assault- third degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.

Severity Sexual assault- third degree - Charge Description Punishment
Offender if over 18 and engages in sexual penetration with a victim over 14 but under 16.

Rhode Island law allows sexual assault- third degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Rhode Island Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.

Sexual assault- third degree defined in other states :

Sexual assault- third degree is a charge in a total of eight other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.

State Charge Type(s) Punishment(s)
Alaska Class C felony Not more than 5 years; presumptive term of 2 years for 2nd, felony, 3 years for 3rd
Arkansas Class C felony 3-10 years; up to $10,000 fine
Connecticut Class C felony ; Class D felony 1 to 10 years in prison, maximum fine of $10,000; 1 to 5 years in prison, a maximum fine of $5,000
Hawaii Class C felony Up to 5 years in jail
Nebraska Second degree and Class III felony; Third degree and Class I misdemeanor Between 20 and 1 years of imprisonment, or twenty-five thousand dollars fine, or both; Up to one year; $1,000 fine
West Virginia Felony 1-5 years in in a state correctional facility, and/or a maximum fine of $5,000
Wisconsin Class G felony Maximum of 10 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $25,000
Wyoming Felony Maximum of 15 years in prison

Back to list of Rhode Island laws

** This Document Provided By **