Sexual abuse- first degree - Alabama Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual abuse- first degree Crime & Punishment in Alabama :
The Alabama code § 13A-6-67 defines two degrees of the crime sexual abuse- first degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse- first degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
|Can be statutory if someone 19 years old or older subjects another person to sexual contact who is less than 16 years old, but more than 12 years old.||Up to one (1) year and a fine up to $6,000.00|
Class C felony
||if offender commits a subsequent sexual offense within one year||No less than one year and one day and no more than 10 years.|
Alabama law allows sexual abuse- first degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Alabama Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse- first degree defined in other states :
Sexual abuse- first degree is a charge in a total of six other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|District of Columbia||Class A felony||Any term of years up to life; fine of up to $250,00|
|Iowa||Class A felony||Life in prison|
|Kentucky||Class C felony; Class D felony||5-10 years in prison; 1-5 years in prison|
|New York||Class D felony||A maximum of 7 years in jail|
|Oregon||Class B felony||Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine|
|West Virginia||Felony||1-5 years in in a state correctional facility, and/or a maximum fine of $5,000|